Blinking, Thinking…

Oyster in love
                      “Who ever loved that loved not at first sight? “ (Shakespeare love quote 10: As You Like It – Act 3, Scene 5). You all have heard of love at a first sight and you are probably thinking now: „yeah, whatever. “ I can tell you, my friends, think so no more. Love at a first sight does exist. If you just pfffed at this sentence, you are probably still single and disappointed in every male/female on the surface of this planet or it took you a good while to fall in love with your partner, or in the worst case, you were hurt and believe in love no more. I am going to prove you wrong, when you find “the one“, you just know it.
                      That is how I felt when I first saw my boyfriend. Five years later, and I still call him boyfriend. Hurry up, boy! You will think it is even more absurd that I fell in love with him just by seeing his pictures. I think so too. When I saw his rather modest photo album online, considering the amount of pictures people upload on their social network profiles EVERY DAY, pouting in front of the bathroom mirror, having a lunch or posing with the “morning face“ and a robe on, I thought, he was a little different. Not for the amount of pictures, of course. Maybe the poor buy just did not have a Nikon D600. I fell for his charm; he had this very attractive air about him. I could tell that just by looking at the protographs; he was a charismatic looking guy.
                      After months of anticipation, I finally met him. That was a real life, non-internet love at a first sight. My hands were shaking, my smile was awkward, my speech was incoherant, I had some serious feelings for the boy. There was an instant connection and our chemistry or whatever that is, worked smootly together. We were freshly baked lovers. To my surprise, I can perfectly recall what I was wearing the day I met the love of my 21-year long life but I cannot remember what he was wearing! I was blinded by the love. “I will not be sworn but love may transform me to an oyster. “ (Shakespeare love quote 28: Much Ado About Nothing – Act 2, Scene 3) That was me, an oyster. Oyster in love.
                      I love my boyfriend as much as I loved him the first time I saw him. It is not a big deal he does not send me those ridiculous pictures with my name, written with a marker on the palm of his hand anymore; or that he does not have a collage made of a million pictures of me as his computer desktop. It really does not matter. I love him all the same and he does too. Oh boy, did I mention how I would sing along romantic-ass (pardon my French) Sinead O‘Connor songs, record and send to him throught Whatsapp? No? It does not matter I did not mention that.
                      If you tell me, you never felt love or affection for someone just by looking at them, it is absolutely normal. You just have not met The One yet. When that happens, you will know it and say: “Aha, that is how it feels! “ Love comes unexpectedly, whether you want it or not. You can fall in love at a blink with a person scanning your goods at the grocery store, with the girl whose tire got flat in the middle of a road and you stopped to help her. One can never know.
                      To all of you, who were pfffing at love from the first sight, glance, stare, glaze, glimpse, blink, I can assure you, it does exist and it turns you into an oyster.
References
No author listed. APA Style. No Sweat Shakespeare. Retrieved from      http://www.nosweatshakespeare.com/quotes/shakespeare-love-quotes/
Leave a Reply

